Reading Jar 2014

At the beginning of 2014, I started a Book Jar – for every book I finished reading I would write down the title and author on a different coloured post-it note (I have quite a little stockpile of unused notes) and put it in the jar so I could go back and physically see how many books I read in the year (without leaving an unruly pile of books in the middle of the room).  I’m sure I picked up the idea from somewhere online.

I have to say it was actually a lot of fun!  I didn’t read as many books as I would have liked, but typically nowadays I only really read at night just before bed – which sometimes means not for very long, or not at all depending on the day.  But nonetheless, a cool exercise.

MyReads2014

Last year I apparently read 35 books total.  I had read somewhere that the average person reads about 50 books a year and I wanted to see how close I was to that average – admittedly, not as close as I’d like, but still I feel pretty good about it.  So good in fact that I’m challenging myself this year to beat 35.

What am I going to do with the post-its, you ask.  I’m planning on making some sort of crafty art project out of them – haven’t decided on how it’s going to work yet, but I’m definitely not going to waste the opportunity to make it even more fun 🙂

And I’m already amassing reads for 2015!  Bring it on, Book worms!

MyReads 2015

Leave a Reply

