NaNoWriMo – Day 3

Well, the first couple of days of Nano went pretty well for me.  I had originally considered only writing during the week which would have resulted in a higher daily word count, but at this stage I’m glad I didn’t start out doing that.  Reason being I’ve struggled a little bit reaching the estimated daily word count required to “win” the challenge at the end.  But I have done it!  And if I can keep myself on track I know it will pay off in the end.

Some observations of my process so far…so, at this point it takes me about 2 to 2.5 hours to reach the  1,667+ words per day.  Overall that’s not too bad considering I haven’t done a lot of planning for the story, so in essence I’m planning as I go, or rather as I write.  Also, I find that just at the end of my writing session I start to feel like I’ve just “warmed up”.  So maybe as I get further into this challenge I will make my writing sessions longer.  But for now, I’ve taken to heart the advice of stopping while in the middle of something happening so I won’t be stuck the next day.  And so far, so good!

Another thing I’ve noticed is that right now as I write the clever wit that I was hoping to inject into the story doesn’t seem to be flowing easily.  Obviously, I don’t want to overdo the clever, but I was hoping that my natural talent for one-liners would be a little more present at this stage.  But, I’ve consciously decided not to worry about it too much.  Although I’m sure it would help with the creativity level, at the end of the day what I need to have down is the basic story.  I’m confident that when I go back to it for revision and editing, I’ll be able to polish it the way I want.

And that brings us to Day 3.  I have to get my “write on” for later today, I just wanted to let you know how things are going (also good exercise for the fingers for later).

And to all of you in NaNo right now, good luck and keep on writing!!

Leave a Reply

