An Anniversary with a Touch of Enlightenment

All's_well_that_inks_wellSo, yesterday I started getting some notifications from people commenting on my LinkedIn profile.  I had no idea why people were saying “congratulations” to me, as far I know I really haven’t done anything to achieve any sort of praise.

It turns out that yesterday was my two year anniversary writing my column for InRetro Magazine/InRetro Radio.

It got me to thinking.  When I first started writing the column, I was so unsure of myself.  For the first ten submissions I had my husband review, critique and advise because I was so insecure about the format, flow and presentation.  I hadn’t written anything in the previous two years so, let me tell you, I did have some difficulties, especially in writing something longer than a sound bite.

But over the course of the last two years, I took my husband’s criticism to heart (in a very positive way) and have worked to make my writing better.  I may not be a great writer, but I now know I am a ‘good enough’ writer.

When I first moved to the States – almost 5 years ago – my biggest trouble was finding personal worth.  I had left a job I loved and entered into the realm of unemployment.  So, when I started my column it was a struggle when people asked me ‘what do you do?’  For so long I said that I’m looking for ‘meaningful’ work (my less depressing way of saying unemployed).  Even after I started writing, I never felt like I could say I was a writer.  I kept trying it out as my answer, but I felt like a liar even thinking it.  How dare I presume to call myself a writer?

But the truth is I’ve always been a writer.

A big part of my job in politics and in government was writing.  I wrote what to say, I revised and re-worked speeches, press releases, letters; I wrote policy proposals, reports, not to mention thousands of emails…just about everything I did was writing.

And after all this time, I find I’ve been selling myself short…

So I will keep at it, and keep getting better, knowing that this is what I’ve always done and will continue to do.

That being said – as I enter into the realm of science fiction/fantasy – I just wrote my first short story (well, first since it was required in school), and after another round or two of edits, I will submit it to Daily Science Fiction and see what happens.

It’s time to truly dive in.  I’ll let you know how it goes.


Photo Credit: All’s well that inks well (modified) via (CC BY 2.0)

 

4 thoughts on “An Anniversary with a Touch of Enlightenment

  1. I wish you well. Erin. The act of putting words on paper so as to entertain, or inform, or persuade others is worthwhile. I have such satisfaction in creating something with words.It’s only taken me 70 years to realize that if I like the results of my writing, that’s all that matters. It’s the imagining, the creating, the bringing to life, that’s the real payoff.
    I don’t do nearly enough of it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Irony | I'm Write Dammit!

Leave a Reply

