A Word on Technology

The_iOS_family_pile_(2012)_60s

Contrary to what some people may believe, I like technology.  I love having access to all sort of information at all times of the day.  I even like playing the little games and things.  Not only that, it is a great tool for writers, builders and dreamers…

BUT, I can live without it.

I presently do not have a cell phone, or iPad, or Reader or whatever, and I’m surviving just fine, thanks.  In fact, when I leave home I’m not constantly worried about what I’m missing.

And before anyone says, “well, you just don’t understand,” I used to have two devices.  One for work, and one for personal (I worked for the government and decided it wasn’t right to have anything personal going through a government system).   On the business side it was my job to know everything that was going on pretty well all the time…and I loved it!

When I moved to the U.S., I gave both devices up – partly because I no longer had the same job (work device) and partly financial reasons (personal device).  Let me tell you, it was utter heartbreak for me at that time when I had to let them go – and just like any other addiction – I periodically dream about them even now.

But over time, I learned to appreciate life without them.  There have even been periods over the last few years where the power has gone out here for days on end, and I can live without the internet.  Yes, it’s an annoyance, but I am not completely lost without it and can survive quite happily.

I am not a Luddite, but I do see the value in limiting one’s personal use of electronics.

It’s the same with television.  I was a junky.  But now, I don’t have cable, or satellite, or use Netflix.  And because of that, my tastes have changed.  That doesn’t mean I don’t watch any television.  It just means I’ve become more discerning on what I’m willing to tolerate.

Let me tell you, I can’t stomach too much gore anymore – at one time I was so desensitized it rarely phased me…but even so, I still go to movies and periodically check out new (or old) shows to see if they appeal to me.

But even though I feel my quality of life is better for not being controlled by every new piece of tech that surfaces, at the end of the day, I do sometimes feel like Guy Montag from Ray Bradbury’s Farenheit 451, where because you aren’t a part of the technology-absorbed world, you are hunted down for being abnormal…when really, living without its constant chatter is the most normal thing of all.


Image Credit:  the iOS family pile (2012) (modified) via (CC BY 2.0)

One thought on “A Word on Technology

  1. Interesting what you said.

    I don’t know that I’m quite that detached. My use of the internet is pretty much daily, and just the other day I bought yet another tablet.

    But my cell phone is just that – a phone. It’s a 6 year old Blackberry. Was top of the line when I bought it, capable of leaping tall buildings in a single bound. In 2011 I dumbed it down…. no internet, no texting, no movie watching. Reduced my monthly cell bill from just under eighty dollars a month to just under 35. If I’m stuck on the road or late home from choir practice, I can notify whoever needs to know. That’s it.

    My iPOD Touch is 6 years old. My laptop is 7 years old. My eMac is even older. There was a time when I could have been classified as an “early adopter” for most of this stuff. When it came out I had to have it, dollars be hanged. Then I got married. That ends life for most single men, or at least life as they once knew it.

    My current philosophy is essentially, if I’m going to buy something new, what will it do for me that I cannot do with my current equipment. Usually the answer is not a damn thing.

    The new tablet is a bit of an exception. I’m on f a quest and I think it’s going to cost me. I want a small device that I can see. Seems like when they increase the resolution on the new crop of stuff they persist in cramming more print onto the screen. I’m 70. My eyesight isn’t what it used to be. Even with zooming and scrolling, and setting the font size to “HUGE” I’m having difficulty.

    To this end the new tablet seems like a dismal failure. Bad as the first one I bought a year ago. The 6 year old iPOD touch does better. Can’t win for losing. But its’s early days. Maybe I’ll get used to it.

    I think in some ways your perspective and mine on technology are similar. But not the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

